Department Leadership

Department Chair and Vice Chairs

Terri L. Young, MD, MBA, FARVO

Peter A. Duehr Professor and Chair

Curtis R. Brandt, PhD, FARVO

Vice Chair of Research

Daniel W. Knoch, MD

Vice Chair of Education and Faculty Development

Kimberly E. Stepien, MD

Co-Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Andrew T. Thliveris, MD, PhD

Vice Chair of Resident Education

Amy L. Walker, OD, MBA, FAAO

Co-Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Department Service Chiefs

Barbara Blodi, MD

Fundus Photography Reading Center Medical Director

Yanjun Chen, MD, PhD  


Justin Gottlieb, MD  


Gregg Heatley, MD, MMM  


Mark Lucarelli, MD, FACS 

Oculoplastic and Reconstructive Surgery 

Michele Martin, OD 


Mihai Mititelu, MD, MPH 

Clinical Eye Research Unit Medical Director

Sarah Nehls, MD

Cornea and Anterior Segment

Heather Potter, MD

Ocular Pathology

Stephen Sauer, MD

Comprehensive Ophthalmology

Andy Thliveris, MD, PhD

Veteran’s Affairs Hospital

Terri Young, MD, MBA, FARVO

Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult  Strabismus

Advisory Board

George Beestman, PhD, MS  

Principal, Beestman Formulations  Consulting 

Richard Daluge, PhD 

Vice Chair, Board of Directors  Lions Eye Bank of Wisconsin

Loretta Himmelsbach 

Former Executive Director, Wisconsin  Council of the Blind & Visually Impaired

Jerry King  

Executive Vice President Skyward International, Inc.

Jeffrey Levy 

Senior Director, Phillips Distributing, Inc.

Laurie McCallum, JD 

Former Attorney and First Lady of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin Labor and Industry Review Commission

Renee Reback 

Former President, Dean Foundation 

Russell Rothman  

Chief Executive Officer, Triple R Consulting

Thomas Stevens, MD

Professor and Emeritus Department Chair, University of Wisconsin–Madison Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences


Daniel M. Albert, MD, MS

Richard E. Appen, MD 

Neal P. Barney, MD 

Suresh Chandra, MD  

Nansi Jo Colley, PhD 

Ronald P. Danis, MD 

Richard K. Dortzbach, MD  

Ronald Engerman, PhD 

Thomas D. France, MD  

Paul L. Kaufman, MD 

Burton J. Kushner, MD 

Leonard A. Levin, MD 

Frank L. Myers, MD 

Michael W. Neider 

Arthur S. Polans, PhD 

Thomas S. Stevens, MD 

Ingolf Wallow, MD 

Barbara E.K. Klein, MD, MPH

Department Administration

Christopher Malina

Communications Manager

Karen Bradley, RN, BSN 

Ophthalmology Clinic Manager, UW  Health Clinics 

Linda R. Callow, CPA, MBA 

Director of Business Services

Christopher J. Geier

Information Technology Director

Christine Hodges, MSOL, SHRM-CP

Director of Operations, Wisconsin Reading Center

Daniel W. Knoch, MD

Director Medical Student Education

Bradley J. Meyers


Anna C. Momont, MD

Associate Residency Director

Cheryl J. Nagel, LPN

Clinic Operations Manager, UW Health Clinics

Lisa M. Nelson

Clinical Coding Coordinator

Jennie R. Perry-Raymond

Clinical Eye Research Unit Manager

Diana Renderos

Human Resources

Tetyana Schneider

Assistant Administrator, Education and Faculty Development

Becca Raven Uminowicz

Administrative Manager

Paul A. Zellmer, MHA  

Director of UW Health Ambulatory Operations